Wisconsin Speaks #4: Packers’ Hopeful Nate Dreiling

I recently got the opportunity to speak with Green Bay Packers’ hopeful Nate Dreiling. Dreiling is a linebacker from Pittsburg State, a University in Kansas. Dreiling is a four-time division two All-American, while also winning the 2011 Division II National Championship. Nate will attend the Packers’ rookie camps this week, going into next week, looking for a chance to land a spot on the roster.

Nate Dreiling 3

Alex Strouf: Have you began working out with the Packers?
Nate Dreiling: I fly up Thursday morning, and kind of get rookie camp started from there. I’ve got a physical and a meeting on Thursday, and practice Friday and Saturday, so we’ll kind of get things started from there.

AS: Would you say you kind of have a chip on your shoulder, since you’re not signed?ND:  Yeah, I mean it’s fair to say. I only had one scholarship offer coming out of high school, so I guess the chip has been there for a long time. I’ve been fortunate enough to prove that once, and I get the opportunity again.

AS: You’re a four-time All-American, how much of an honor is that to you?
ND: You don’t look at it too much, that’s my biggest award in college along with the national championship in 2011. It could be an All-American season any year and hopefully I can hang around and find a way to help Green Bay out and help them win a couple more Super Bowls.

Nate Dreiling 1
Dreiling (#11) after his National Championship win in 2011. Mandatory Photo Credit: NCAA

AS: You were a leader at Pitt State, do you believe you can come in and be a leader with Green Bay?
ND: It’s different. You don’t come into a place and boss the veterans around. It’s the same with college, you have to earn your respect. I’m going to be myself and try to work as hard as I can. I’m just going to play my role, however it comes.

AS: How did the Packers reach out to you last week?
ND: After the draft, it was about thirty minutes after the Draft, we finally got a call. I was sitting next to my dad, we got a call at the same time, both being Wisconsin numbers. Mine was one of the representatives and his was actually Mike McCarthy, calling to let us know they were interested. We had some other offers we were getting close to, but once Green Bay called it turned out we chose Green Bay, obviously.

AS: How comfortable with your game, are you covering a tight end or a wideout?
ND: Sure, I was fortunate enough with my college team we ran a 4-2, so many times I was covering the tight ends. In zone blitz’s I would end up covering the slot receiver. It’s something I’m familiar with. Obviously it will be more challenging [in the NFL] because obviously there’s better athletes. I’m looking forward to it and I guess we will see in a couple days.

AS: What do you feel like the most efficient part of your game is?
ND: I feel like my instincts are pretty good. My dad’s a high school football coach, so I’ve been around the game, watched film for countless numbers of hours. It all comes into play when you’re reading and disecting plays.. I’m just able to do whatever I can and really do whatever I can to help the team out.

AS: Lastly, what do you feel like the part of your game is that you can really improve on?

ND: One thing I can improve on personally.. Wow, that’s a tough question there. There’s obviously a hundred things you could get better on. For me, where I am at right now, you have to focus on the small things, rather that be the footwork or having better eyes, just really trying to focus on those. As you play football for ten years, you feel like you have a pretty good handle on it, but you’re actually learning something new every day about your position. Whether, it’s like I said the footwork or the schematics of it. It’s all different situations. I’m just always trying to learn, and never settle

AS: Alright Nate, I appreciate it!
ND: Thanks for the call.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Kirk Kirkpatrick May 22, 2014 — 2:47 PM

    Nate thought he did well at the GB tryout but apparently the Packers weren’t all that impressed. Now he has been invited to the Chiefs rookie camp. I watched Nate the last four years and I personally think the GB brain trust missed on this one.

Leave a comment