Wisconsin Speaks #6: Brewers’ Third Baseman Aramis Ramirez

Picture: Benny Sieu-USA TODAY

APPLETON, Wis.–

All Wisconsin Athletics received the opportunity to speak with Brewers’ third baseman Aramis Ramirez during his rehabilitation campaign with the class-A affiliate of the Brewers, the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers. Ramirez was rehabbing a left hamstring he injured on May11th at home against the New York Yankees.

Alex Strouf: Alright Aramis, out for 21 days, you came up here and started. How’s the hamstring feeling?
Aramis Ramirez: Pretty good. Took three weeks, but I’ve put in a lot of work and I feel like I am where I should be.

AS: When the idea was presented to you to come up here and play, what was your reaction?
AR: I told them, “I don’t really like to go to rehab,” but I felt like I needed it. I was out three weeks. Minor league pitching is pretty good, so I wanted to see some pitches before I stepped into action.

AS: How’d you feel throwing the ball? You grounded a ball in what I believe was the second inning, threw it to first. Looked solid, how’d it feel?
AR: Everything’s feeling really good so far. I’m going to play again tomorrow here and hopefully it doesn’t rain [laughs]. Hopefully I get some at-bats. I was supposed to get three or four at-bats tonight but the rain cut my game short. Hopefully I can get some better weather tomorrow.

AS: Did you just cut it short because it was wet, because they did not want you to slip?
AR: Because of the rain. Also, I felt like the other two defenders could make some play. It was slippery out there. It was hard not to lengthen and get some at-bats out there.

AS: When are you aiming to return? Will it be Wednesday for Minnesota?
AR: Yeah. I think if everything goes smooth tomorrow, I’m going to do everything with the team tomorrow and I’m excited for Minnesota on Wednesday.

AS: Thanks Aramis, appreciate it.
AR: No problem.

~Alex Strouf (@LetsGoAlex)

Leave a comment