OPINION: Evaluating Madison East’s boy’s Basketball Future

EDITOR'S NOTE: 100% of the opinions and viewpoints of this article are from the author. No other author or contributor of All Wisconsin Athletics agrees nor disagrees with the following opinions.

MADISON, Wis.–

It’s a safe to say that the Big 8 is one of the best conferences in the state of Wisconsin. The conference for years has been loaded with talent that consisted of college basketball prospects and a of couple players that have made their dream a reality by playing professional basketball, whether it is in the NBA or overseas. This article is long overdue. Madison East Side High School has had far too much talent over the years to continue to be at the bottom of the standings year after year. I want to get to the bottom of this problem. Is it the players, the system, or the coach?

This year and last year I have said to my colleagues with basketball knowledge that I respect, that East has arguably the most talent in the conference but continues to underachieve. They have several players on their team that are being recruited by colleges, so to me that means there is talent on the team. Players that I have watched in games and/or workouts that I know can play and produce at this level are: De’Shawn Burks, D’Angelo Millon, Deang Deang, Jordan Chester, Tre’vone Irby, Kenny Jones, Austin Obodo, and Keshawn Justice. That’s a solid 8 man rotation on top of East getting a Courtland Cuevas back after the first 8 games due to a transfer mid-season last year. I also saw a lot of these players perform well on the AAU circuit, so I am not thinking that it is the players.

As for a system, hmm doesn’t system usually mean something that is implemented that the team sticks with and works season after season? Well this team hasn’t figured out their offensive identity. Last season they ran the flex offense, which clearly was not suited for a team that would thrive with an up-tempo style. This season they are running the dribble drive offense which is a lot better for the talent that is on this team, but I have one problem with this though. The dribble-drive offense can’t be all you run because it isn’t really a play, it’s drive and kick until you get in the paint for a paint touch and score or kick it out to a perimeter shooter (which this team lacks). If you run the dribble drive offense you have to have some quick hitters which are plays out designed to get a quick look to keep the defense on their toes but I have yet to see them run any plays. So a system is implemented by the coach, hmm which leads me to him next.

Let’s recap what has already been stated: the team has talent, this team has always underachieved, the system isn’t consistent and not really effective. Now let’s see what the commonality of all this is, the coach! Matt Miota is the head of the program and decides who plays and how the team is going to play as far as style and pace. I will give him credit because the team is in the middle of the pack in the conference standings at fourth but I think in large part is due to the fact nobody has gone zone and Kept Madison East leading scorer Deang Deang out of the paint by packing the paint. Madison East hasn’t shown yet this season they can consistently hit outside shots.

I want nothing but the best for this team because they have kids on their team that I have watched grow over the years, but based on my observations I honestly don’t see them finishing in the top of the standings. In sports, just like any other life endeavor, you need consistency, something you can stick with and get better at but I don’t know if Miota has that in him to do and get this team to the next level.

~Jamaal Eubanks 

Leave a comment