Wisconsin Baseball Central Interview Series: Pewaukee’s Connor Moroder, North Dakota

PEWAUKEE, Wis.–

I had the chance to speak with Pewaukee High School’s Connor Moroder, a senior infielder who is committed to play baseball at the University of North Dakota. Moroder, like many of the top players in southern Wisconsin, does not play high school baseball in the summer, but plays with the STiKS Academy travel team. Here’s the full interview.

Spencer Flaten: You chose to skip the WIAA summer season at Pewaukee in order to play with STiKS Academy. What was the thinking behind that decision?

Connor Moroder: I chose to play at STiKS to play at a higher level of baseball. In the past, I played with STiKS to get more exposure with college coaches. A lot of time and thought went into making the decision to play for STiKS instead of playing for my high school.

 

SF: How has playing with STiKS helped out your game?

CM: Our knowledgeable coaching staff has helped me tremendously to develop my skills. The facility has everything I could possibly need to become a better baseball player.  As a team we love to see each other improve and want the best for each other so we all try to help each other out when needed.

 

SF: What elements of your game do you feel help you be successful on the field?

CM: Something that I have always taken pride in is how I play the game mentally. I have a good sense of where to be in [given] situations and what to do when needed to make a play. My primary position is third base but I am able to play any position on the field that the team needs.

 

SF: What schools were on your shortlist before you decided on North Dakota?

CM: I got a lot of interest from all over at all levels but mainly D1 and D2 schools with some junior colleges as well.

 

SF: In the end, what was it about North Dakota that made you want to continue your baseball career there?

CM: My ultimate goal was to play D1 baseball and I could do that at UND. I felt very comfortable with the coaches. I liked the fact that they are in a conference spread out all over the country and travel a lot to play the best competition they can.

 

SF: A couple of guys from Denmark High School, Jack Collins and Riley Pelischek, will join you at North Dakota next year. Do you have any relationship with those guys?

CM: I have not met them personally. I believe I have played against them a couple times but I can’t wait to get on the field with them.

 

~Spencer Flaten, Lead Writer at WisconsinBaseballCentral.com (@WIBallCentral on Twitter)

Leave a comment