MRI’s on Brewers’ Gatewood come with Good News

Picture: MLB

GRAND CHUTE, Wis–

Jake Gatewood was drafted by the Milwaukee Brewers in a supplementary round of the 2014 MLB Draft. Gatewood is one of the top infield prospects for the Brewers at only nineteen years of age, but there’s now a setback in his young career.

When playing with the class-A Wisconsin Timber Rattlers last week, Gatewood suffered a scary injury in his right knee.

“When I tried to plant, my knee buckled at first then twisted. It wasn’t pretty” Gatewood said, walking the media through the play that the injury occurred last week, with a smirk, “I was in a lot of pain at first but the doctors did a great job with me and getting me ready.”

After Gatewood was helped off and into the locker room, the Brewers and Timber Rattlers feared it could be as serious as a torn ACL. Luckily, that turned out not to be the case on Friday.

“I got some MRI’s, I had some doctors look at my knee,” Gatewood, the Brewers’ nineteen year-old infield prospect told the media on Friday, “We just learned that it was a contusion, nothing torn so we were pretty happy about that.”

“It’s not as bad as maybe originally thought, which is a good thing,” Timber Rattlers manager Matt Erickson told me on Friday, “I don’t think at this point I’m really prepared to let you know how long it may be. It’s not season-ending. We’re gonna have to reevaluate throughout the week.”

“He’s very sore right now, he’s still on crutches.”

Although the timetable is unknown, the Brewers are already anxious to get their stud infielder back on the field.

~Alex Strouf (@LetsGoAlex)

Leave a comment