Gennett Activated, Expected to Play Tuesday

GRAND CHUTE, Wis.–

Scooter Gennett’s four-game rehabilitation stint with the team he began his career with has come to an end. The Milwaukee Brewers’ second baseman was in his first action since suffering a laceration of the left hand in a Pittsburgh Pirates’ visiting locker room shower on April 19th. Gennett was in Appleton, Wis. playing with the Brewers’ single-A affiliated Wisconsin Timber Rattlers.

Gennett could not make it more clear after his final game that he was ready to return to the Brewers with new manager Craig Counsell at the helm.

“I’m ready to go,” Gennett told me on Monday, “I feel confident and nothing is hindering me from performing.”

That’s what Scooter told me after I asked him if he was ready to go, so I specifically asked him about his hand. Scooter told me, “Feels good. Band-aid stayed on all game, which is good.” Gennett made it clear that he was ready to go throughout the night, “But really there’s no pain, it’s just more about keeping it covered and keeping dirt out of it and stuff. I’m good to go.”

“I don’t know how long it’s been since he’s played, you probably know that information,” Timber Rattlers manager Matt Erickson told me after Monday’s loss, “It looked like he was a step behind that first day. But today, he looked like he was anticipating things and reacting well. The hand doesn’t seem to affect him at all at the plate.”

Scooter Gennett knows Craig Counsell well, and after seeing he got his first win, he was even more excited to get back with his new manager and his “brothers.”

“Now we have Craig, who’s an awesome dude,” Gennett said before Monday’s game, “I’m really looking forward to working with him and picking his brain a little bit.”

“It’s gonna be fun. Obviously today [Craig Counsell] got his first win which is awesome and we’re on a three game winning streak now so it’s gonna be fun to get out there.”

If Gennett plays tonight, he will likely be facing former Brewer and current Los Angeles Dodger Zach Greinke. Gennett is 1-for-5 against him in his career.

“The thing about Greinke is he comes after you. The thing is I think we’re a good team, we like swinging the bat.”

Gennett returns alongside shortstop Jean Segura, who took a pitch to the helmet on Sunday. They’re both expected to start, although Hector Gomez hit a triple and home run off of  reigning NL MVP Clayton Kershaw on Monday in Gennett’s place.

~Alex Strouf (@LetsGoAlex)

Leave a comment